WORKING WITH FILES/FOLDERS

Copying a file leaves the original file as it is and creates a fresh copy of the file at the destination location. To copy the files, first select the files to be copied. Then copy the items using any of the following methods.

1. Click on the Edit menu and select Copy
2. Right-Click on the selection and select Copy from the shortcut menu
3. Use Keyboard combination Ctrl+c to Copy

Now, click on the destination folder and Paste the items using any of the following methods.

1. Click on the Edit menu and select Paste
2. Right-Click on the folder and select Paste from the shortcut menu
3. Use Keyboard combination Ctrl+v to Paste

 

You can copy the selected files using Explorer Bar also. After selecting the items to be copied, click on Copy the selected items option from the Explorer Bar. You can see a Copy Items List Box. Browse and select the desired location to copy the files. That’s it! You can also create a new folder (if required) using the Make New Folder button.

There is a special folder called Recycle Bin to hold the deleted files. As soon as you delete a file, it goes to the Recycle Bin. You can empty the recycle bin whenever you want. Recycle Bin has an option to restore the deleted file to the original location. This can be used to retrieve the file, in case it was deleted by mistake.

First, select the files to be deleted. Right-click on the selection to get the shortcut menu. Select Delete from the shortcut menu. The files will get deleted; In other words, the files get moved to the Recycle Bin.

Just like Move and Copy, if you want to Delete from the Explorer Bar, click on the Delete the selected items option and follow the procedure as described in Move/Copy.

Can you see the Recycle Bin icon on the Desktop? Open the Recycle Bin. You can see the Explorer Bar in the left pane and the contents of the Recycle Bin in the right pane. You can see two options displayed in the Explorer Bar under the Recycle Bin Tasks.

1. Empty the Recycle Bin
2. Restore all items

If you want to

one or more of the items, select those items from the right pane. Click on

from the left pane. The selected items would be sent to their original destinations. In case you want to restore all the items, without selecting any of the items, click on

option from the left pane.

To empty the Recycle Bin, choose the Empty Recycle Bin option from the File menu or click on Empty Recycle Bin option from the left pane of the Explorer Bar.

Pls note that, if you click on Empty Recycle Bin, all the items will be deleted permanently from the storage, even if you have selected a few items from the right pane. Once this is done, there is no way to get back the files.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *